"We protect your intellectual property"

Utility Models

Utility models protect “technical inventions” like patents. The protection requirements broadly correspond to those of the patent. The term is shorter however and in Austria is 10 years from the filing date.

The effect, the scope of protection and the enforcement of rights are substantially the same as for a patent.

In the registration process, unlike patent applications the novelty and inventivity are not examined. A faster registration can therefore be effected. Whether the material protection requirements are actually given is only examined by the office in the event of an application for annulment.

An important point, at least in the case of an Austrian utility model, is the grace period with respect to one’s own prior publications: a disclosure of the invention is left out of consideration if it is not made earlier than 6 months before the filing date and is attributable directly or indirectly to the applicant or his legal predecessor.

A grace period with respect to one’s own prior publications also exists for German utility models but is not found in most other countries. Utility models also do not exist in other countries, for example, Switzerland. There is also no “European utility model”.

 
 
 
 

Patentanwälte
Hofmann & Fechner
Hörnlingerstraße 3
Postfach 5
6830 Rankweil
ÖSTERREICH
T: +43 5522 73137
F: +43 5522 73137-10
office@vpat.at

 

Österreichische Patentanwälte  |  European Patent Attorneys  |  European Trademark Attorneys           Design by ms-WebDesign

„Wir schützen Ihr geistiges Eigentum“

Gebrauchsmuster

Gebrauchsmuster schützen wie Patente "technische Erfindungen". Die Schutzvoraussetzungen entsprechen weitgehend denjenigen des Patents. Die Laufdauer ist aber kürzer und beträgt in Österreich 10 Jahre ab dem Anmeldetag.

Die Wirkung, der Schutzumfang und die Rechtsdurchsetzung sind im Wesentlichen gleich wie
beim Patent.

Im Eintragungsverfahren werden im Unterschied zu Patentanmeldungen die Neuheit und Erfindungshöhe nicht geprüft. Es kann daher eine schnellere Registrierung erwirkt werden. Ob die materiellen Schutzvoraussetzungen tatsächlich gegeben sind, wird vom Amt erst im Falle eines Nichtigkeitsantrags durch einen Dritten geprüft.

Ein wichtiger Punkt zumindest bei einem österreichischen Gebrauchsmuster ist die Neuheitsschonfrist gegenüber eigenen Vorveröffentlichungen: Eine Offenbarung der Erfindung bleibt außer Betracht, wenn sie nicht früher als 6 Monate vor dem Anmeldetag erfolgt ist und unmittelbar oder mittelbar auf den Anmelder oder seinen Rechtsvorgänger zurückgeht.

Eine Neuheitsschonfrist gegenüber eigenen Vorveröffentlichungen besteht auch bei deutschen Gebrauchsmustern, in den meisten anderen Ländern aber nicht. Gebrauchsmuster existieren auch nicht in allen Ländern, beispielsweise der Schweiz. Es gibt auch kein "europäisches Gebrauchsmuster".

 
 
 
 

Patentanwälte
Hofmann & Fechner
Hörnlingerstraße 3
Postfach 5
6830 Rankweil
ÖSTERREICH
T: +43 5522 73137
F: +43 5522 73137-10
office@vpat.at

 

Österreichische Patentanwälte  |  European Patent Attorneys  |  European Trademark Attorneys